HomeFestivalsUtkala Dibasa: History and significance of Odisha Day

Utkala Dibasa: History and significance of Odisha Day

Odisha Day also known as Utkala Dibasa is celebrated on 1 April in Odisha in memory of the formation of the state as a separate province on 1 April 1936. After losing its complete political identity in 1568 following the defeat and demise of the last Hindu king Mukunda Dev, efforts resulted in the formation of a politically separate state under British rule on a linguistic basis on 1 April 1936.

When is Utkala Dibasa or Utkal Divas or Odisha Day

It is celebrated on April 1 every year to commemorate the formation of the state of Odisha as a separate entity from the Bengal Presidency in 1936.

Utkala Dibasa History

The main revolution for the separate state continued for three decades from the very day of the formation of Utkal Sammilani which lead to the foundation of a separate Odisha Province. The movement was more intense with the leadership of Utkala Gouraba Madhusudan Das, Utkala mani Gopabandhu Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandita Nilakantha Das, Fakir Mohan Senapati, Gangadhar Meher, Basudeba Sudhaladeba, Radhanath Ray, Bhubanananda Das, A. P. Patro, and many others with the support of the public. The newly formed Odisha consisted of six districts namely Cuttack, Puri, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Koraput, and Ganjam having its capital at Cuttack. John Austin Hubback took the oath of office and became the first Governor of Odisha Province.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Post