HomeNewsOdisha NewsElection Dates For Odisha ULBs Announced By SEC

Election Dates For Odisha ULBs Announced By SEC

The State Election Commission (SEC) on Friday announced the dates for elections to urban local bodies (ULBs) in Odisha.

Elections will be held in 106 ULBs including 3 municipal corporations, 47 municipalities, and 59 NACs on March 24.

The nominations are to be filed between March 2 and 7. Nominations will be scrutinized on March 9 and the last date of withdrawal of nominations is March 14. The counting of votes will be held on March 26.

Elections will be held for 1,731 wards in municipalities and NACs for which 3,030 booths will be set up. More than 27 lakh voters are expected to vote.

Elections for 3 municipal corporations (BMC, CMC, and BeMC) will be conducted for 168 wards in 1,407 booths. An estimated 14.26 lakh voters are eligible to cast their votes in this election.

The term of BeMC was completed in September 2018 while that of BMC in January 2019 and CMC in February 2019.

The SEC has also announced that there will be a NOTA option in the ULB elections for the first time.

In another first, the election to the posts of chairperson and mayor will be held directly this time. For this purpose, there will be two electronic voting machines (EVMs) in separate compartments in each booth.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Post