20.1 C
Saturday, January 29, 2022
HomePoliticsList of Chief Ministers of Odisha and their tenure

List of Chief Ministers of Odisha and their tenure

List of Chief Ministers of Odisha

On 1 April 1936, Odisha Province was formed. The King of Paralakhemundi, Maharaja Krishna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Deo was the first Prime Minister of Odisha state from 1 April 1937 to 18 July 1937. Thereafter the All India Congress party leader Biswanath Das took over the charges for two more years. Again the King become Prime Minister of Odisha for the second time from 24 November 1941 to 30 June 1944 before finally handed over to Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab in the year 1946.

After India got its freedom and the constitution was enacted. Till the first election, Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab continued to be the chief minister of Odisha. Since 1946, Odisha has had 14 chief ministers. Serving since 2000, Naveen Patnaik of the Biju Janata Dal is the incumbent chief minister and the longest-serving one in Odisha’s history.

Chief Ministers of Odisha After Indepance Chief Ministers of Odisha

Sl.NoChief MinisterFromToParty Name
1Naveen Patnaik29 May 2019PresentBiju Janata Dal
2Naveen Patnaik21 May 201429 May 2019Biju Janata Dal
3Naveen Patnaik21 May 200921 May 2014Biju Janata Dal
4Naveen Patnaik16 May 200421 May 2009Biju Janata Dal
5Naveen Patnaik05 Mar 200016 May 2004Biju Janata Dal
6Hemananda Biswal17 Feb 199906 Dec 1999INC
7Giridhar Gamang15 Mar 199517 Feb 1999INC
8Janaki Ballabh Patnaik15 Mar 199515 Mar 1995INC
9Biju Patnaik05 Mar 199015 Mar 1995Janata Dal
10Hemananda Biswal07 Dec 198905 Mar 1990INC
11Janaki Ballabh Patnaik10 Mar 198507 Dec 1989INC
12Janaki Ballabh Patnaik09 Jun 198010 Mar 1985INC
13President’s rule17 Feb 198009 Jun 1980
14Nilamani Routray26 Jun 197717 Feb 1980Janata Party
15President’s rule30 Apr 197726 Jun 1977
16Binayak Acharya29 Dec 197630 Apr 1977INC
17President’s rule16 Dec 197629 Dec 1976
18Nandini Satpathy06 Mar 197416 Dec 1976INC
19President’s rule03 Mar 197306 Mar 1974
20Nandini Satpathy14 Jun 197203 Mar 1973INC
21Biswanath Das03 Apr 197114 Jun 1972Independent
22President’s rule11 Jan 197103 Apr 1971
23Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo08 Mar 196709 Jan 1971Swatantra Party
24Sadashiva Tripathy21 Feb 196508 Mar 1967INC
25Biren Mitra02 Oct 196321 Feb 1965INC
26Biju Patnaik23 Jun 196102 Oct 1963INC
27President’s rule25 Feb 196123 Jun 1961
28Harekrushna Mahatab22 May 195925 Feb 1961INC
29Harekrushna Mahatab06 Apr 195722 May 1959INC
30Harekrushna Mahatab19 Oct 195606 Apr 1957INC
31Nabakrushna Choudhury20 Feb 195219 Oct 1956INC
32Nabakrushna Choudhury12 May 195020 Feb 1952INC
33Harekrushna Mahatab23 Apr 194612 May 1950INC


Prime Ministers of Odisha Before Independence

Sl.NoChief MinisterFromToParty Name
1Krushna Chandra Gajapati29 November 194129 June 1944Independent
2Biswanath Das19 July 19374 November 1939INC
3Krushna Chandra Gajapati1 April 193719 July 1937Independent


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here




Total confirmed cases
Updated on 29/01/2022 7:08 PM

Most Popular